print PRINT

POLITICS > Political Parties

48 Upper House members shuffled

  • July 26, 2016
  • , Asahi , p. 4
  • Translation

The six-year term of office as House of Councillors members, elected in 2010, expired on July 25. According to a calculation by the Asahi Shimbun, a total of 24 members of six parties and independents did not run in the July 10 Upper House election and 24 incumbents of four parties and independents were  defeated in the poll.


In the ruling Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), six Upper House members, including former Education Minister Kenji Kosaka and Upper House Budget Committee Chairman Koichi Kishi, former Secretary General of the caucus in the Upper House Masashi Waki, did not run in the race. Of the seven members, who lost their seats, Aiko Shimajiri and Mitsuhide Iwaki continue to serve as State Minister for Okinawa and Northern Territories Affairs and as Justice Minister respectively until the cabinet reshuffle in early August. Komeito Upper House Diet Affairs Committee Chairman Kiyohiro Araki will retire from politics.


In the largest opposition Democratic Party (DP), nine members, including Upper House Vice President Azuma Koshiishi, former Justice Minister Satsuki Eda, former Defense Minister Toshimi Kitazawa, and former Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry Masayuki Naoshima, will retire from the national political arena. The veteran lawmakers who had influence over various areas such as the Constitution, security and economic policy, will leave the Diet.


Hiroyuki Arai, representative of the New Renaissance Party, who lost his Upper House seat, will also retire from politics. As a result, the party will be dissolved since it has no member. (Slightly abridged)

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan