print PRINT

POLITICS > Cabinet

Aso to continue as number 2

  • August 4, 2016
  • , Nikkei , p. 8
  • Translation

At the first meeting of his new cabinet launched on Aug. 3, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe appointed Deputy PM and MOF Minister Taro Aso to continue serving as acting prime minister in the event that Abe is unable to perform his duties as prime minister because he is overseas, is ill, or suffers an accident. The lineup after Aso is as follows: Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga, Economic Revitalization Minister Nobuteru Ishihara, Foreign Minister Fumio Kishida, and Minister of Health, Labour and Welfare Yasuhisa Shiozaki.


The seating arrangement in the Ministerial Reception Room at the Prime Minister’s Office [Kantei] is as follows: Aso has the number 2 seat on the prime minister’s left, and Ishihara has the number 3 seat on the prime minister’s right.


The ministers’ seating arrangement In the chambers of the Upper and Lower Houses is as follows: The prime minister will sit to the left of the central podium (as viewed from the perspective of the Diet members’ seats), and MHLW Minister Shiozaki to the right of the central podium. Aso will sit to the prime minister’s right. 


Seating arrangement @ Kantei



16080402mf bs mf-chart 2

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan