print PRINT

POLITICS > Political Parties

CDPJ forms new parliamentary group in Upper House

  • January 18, 2018
  • , Yomiuri , p. 4
  • JMH Translation

On Jan. 17, the Constitutional Democratic Party of Japan officially notified the Secretariat of the House of Councillors of the formation of a new parliamentary group named “The Constitutional Democratic Party of Japan.” Secretary General Tetsuro Fukuyama will serve as the group representative and a total of six members who left the Democratic Party parliamentary group including Renho will participate in the new group.


The current political groups in the Upper House:

Liberal Democratic Party and Party for Japanese Kokoro: 125

Democratic Party and Shin-Ryokufukai: 42

Komeito: 25

Japanese Communist Party: 14

Nippon Ishin (Japan Innovation Party): 11

Hope Coalition (Liberal Party, Social Democratic Party): 6

Constitutional Democratic Party of Japan: 6

Party of Hope: 3

Independent Club: 2

Okinawa Whirlwind: 2

Voice of the People: 2

Independents: 4

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan