print PRINT

POLITICS > Cabinet

Abe reshuffles cabinet, LDP leadership

NHK reported that Chief Cabinet Secretary Suga announced this afternoon the new cabinet lineup, saying that while the premier retained Deputy Prime Minister/Finance Minister Aso, Chief Cabinet Secretary Suga, Foreign Minister Kono, Economic Minister Seko, Economic Revitalization Minister Motegi, and Land Minister Ishii, he replaced 13 cabinet members and 12 of the new members will be serving in the cabinet for the first time. The newly appointed ministers include Internal Affairs Minister Ishida; Justice Minister Yamashita, who is from the Ishiba faction; Defense Minister Iwaya; and Education Minister Shibayama. NHK said Prime Minister Abe is expected to hold a press conference after the new cabinet is formally inaugurated following an attestation ceremony at the Imperial Palace later in the day.


For the LDP leadership, the premier retained Secretary General Nikai and Policy Affairs chief Kishida and appointed Katsunobu Kato, who currently serves as welfare minister, as the General Council chair and Akira Amari as head of the LDP’s Election Strategy Committee.

  • Ambassador
  • G7 Summit
  • Ukraine