print PRINT


Treasury Department keeps Japan and five other nations on currency watch list

  • October 18, 2018
  • , NHK
  • JMH Summary

NHK reported this morning that the Treasury Department released its semiannual report on the currency exchange policies of each nation on Wednesday. The network said although the Treasury Department did not designate any nation as a currency manipulator, it will keep China, Japan, South Korea, India, Germany, and Switzerland on its watch list to check for currency manipulation. Secretary Mnuchin reportedly said in a statement that China in particular lacks transparency in its currency exchange policy and expressed concern over the recent weakness of the yuan. The network added that the report says although Japan has not intervened in the foreign exchange market since 2011, the huge trade deficit with the nation is a concern.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan