print PRINT

POLITICS > Cabinet

Abe’s new Cabinet lineup

  • September 11, 2019
  • , Kyodo News , 02:06 p.m.
  • English Press

TOKYO – The following is the lineup of a new Cabinet Prime Minister Shinzo Abe launched on Wednesday.


Prime Minister

Shinzo Abe, age 64


Deputy Prime Minister

Finance Minister


Minister for financial services

Minister in charge of overcoming deflation

Taro Aso 78 (R)


Internal Affairs and Communications Minister

Minister in charge of the social security and tax number system

Sanae Takaichi 58 (F)


Justice Minister

Katsuyuki Kawai 56


Foreign Minister

Toshimitsu Motegi 63


Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Minister

Minister in charge of education rebuilding

Koichi Hagiuda 56


Health, Labor and Welfare Minister

Minister in charge of working style reform

Katsunobu Kato 63


Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister

Taku Eto 59


Economy, Trade and Industry Minister

Minister in charge of industrial competitiveness

Minister in charge of international exposition

Minister in charge of economic cooperation with Russia

Minister in charge of the response to the economic impact caused by the nuclear accident

Minister for the Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation

Isshu Sugawara 57


Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism Minister

Minister in charge of water cycle policy

Kazuyoshi Akaba 61


Environment Minister

Minister for nuclear emergency preparedness

Shinjiro Koizumi 38


Defense Minister

Taro Kono 56


Chief Cabinet Secretary

Minister in charge of alleviating the burden of the bases in Okinawa

Minister for the abduction issue

Yoshihide Suga 70 (R)


Minister for reconstruction

Minister in charge of comprehensive policy coordination for revival from the nuclear accident at Fukushima

Kazunori Tanaka 70


Chairman of the National Public Safety Commission

Minister in charge of administrative reform

Minister in charge of civil service reform

Minister in charge of building national resilience

Minister for disaster management

Ryota Takeda 51


Minister in charge of promoting dynamic engagement of all citizens

Minister in charge of territorial issues

Minister for Okinawa and Northern Territories affairs

Minister for consumer affairs and food safety

Minister for measures for declining birthrate

Minister for ocean policy

Seiichi Eto 71


Minister for science and technology policy

Minister in charge of information technology policy

Minister for “Cool Japan” strategy

Minister for intellectual property strategy

Minister for space policy

Naokazu Takemoto 78


Minister in charge of economic revitalization

Minister in charge of promoting social security for all generations

Minister for economic and fiscal policy

Yasutoshi Nishimura 56


Minister for regional revitalization

Minister for regulatory reform

Seigo Kitamura 72


Minister in charge of the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games

Minister in charge of women’s empowerment

Minister for gender equality

Seiko Hashimoto 54 (F)



NOTES: Akaba is a member of the Komeito party. The others are from the Liberal Democratic Party.

(F) denotes female ministers.

(R) denotes Cabinet members who retained their current posts.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan