print PRINT

POLITICS > Cabinet

20 LDP-affiliated state ministers belong to pro-constitutional revision rightest parliamentary leagues

Twenty of the 22 state ministers in the reshuffled fourth cabinet of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe who are affiliated with the Liberal Democratic Party belong to parliamentary leagues affiliated with pro-Yasukuni rightest groups, which support constitutional amendment, according to a survey conducted by Shimbun Akahata. (Abridged)




Japan Conference (Nippon Kaigi)

Shinto Association of Spiritual Leadership

Ichiro Kanke



Taku Otsuka

Cabinet Office

Masaaki Taira

Cabinet Office



Ichiro Miyashita

Cabinet Office

Gaku Hasegawa

Internal Affairs and Communications


Minoru Terada

Internal Affairs and Communications; Cabinet Office

Hiroyuki Yoshiie


✓ Vice president of policy council

Keisuke Suzuki

Foreign Affairs


Kenji Wakamiya

Foreign Affairs



Masahito Fujikawa



Michiko Ueno

Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology


Yoshitami Kameoka

Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology;  Cabinet Office

Gaku Hashimoto

Health, Labor and Welfare

Yoshitaka Ito

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Kanji Kato

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Hideki Makihara

Economy, Trade and Industry

Yohei Matsumoto

Economy, Trade and Industry; Cabinet Office

✓ Officer

Kazuhiko Aoki

Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism

Nobuhide Minorikawa

Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism; Cabinet Office/ Reconstruction

Yukari Sato


Hirotaka Ishihara

Environment; Cabinet Office


Tomohiro Yamamoto

Defense; Cabinet Office


Source: Shimbun Akahata

Note: Excludes state ministers affiliated with Komeito. Data as of Sept. 19. Title written next to the check mark indicates membership in the relevant parliamentary league.


  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan