print PRINT


Japan appoints new ambassadors to Britain, South Korea, others

  • October 15, 2019
  • , Jiji Press , 10:05 a.m.
  • English Press

Tokyo, Oct. 15 (Jiji Press)–The Japanese government Tuesday appointed new ambassadors to Britain, South Korea, Canada, Kuwait, Liechtenstein and Bhutan.

Yasumasa Nagamine, 65, ambassador to South Korea, was named ambassador to Britain, effective immediately. After joining the Foreign Ministry in 1977, he worked in such positions as senior deputy foreign minister for economic affairs.

Koji Tomita, 61, ambassador in charge of the Group of 20 summit, will become ambassador to South Korea on Oct. 22. He joined the Foreign Ministry in 1981. His previous posts include director-general of the ministry’s North American Affairs Bureau.

Yasuhisa Kawamura, 62, deputy permanent representative to the United Nations, was appointed ambassador to Canada, and Masato Takaoka, 61, ambassador to Mongolia, was named ambassador to Kuwait, both effective immediately.

Kojiro Shiraishi, ambassador to Switzerland, was appointed to concurrently serve as ambassador to Liechtenstein, and Satoshi Suzuki, ambassador to India, was concurrently named ambassador to Bhutan, both effective immediately.

  • Ambassador
  • G7 Summit
  • Ukraine