print PRINT


Japan raises travel advisory for 16 countries, region

  • July 21, 2020
  • , Kyodo News , 1:34 p.m.
  • English Press

TOKYO —┬áJapan on Tuesday raised its travel advisory for Palestine and 16 countries, including Nepal, Kenya and Venezuela, warning against going to them amid concerns over the spread of the novel coronavirus.


Foreign Minister Toshimitsu Motegi said the areas are now at Level 3, bringing the total number of countries and regions at the second highest on the Foreign Ministry’s four-point scale for infectious diseases to 146.


The other newly-added areas are Botswana, the Comoros, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Namibia, Paraguay, the Republic of the Congo, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname and Uzbekistan.


They are expected to be added to a list of countries and regions subject to an entry ban for foreign travelers after discussion by the National Security Council.


International travel to and from Japan has slowed to a trickle due to border controls imposed to slow the spread of COVID-19, the respiratory disease caused by the coronavirus. The number of incoming foreign visitors and outgoing Japanese nationals have both plunged more than 99 percent in recent months compared to a year earlier.


The United States, China and all of Europe are among the 129 countries and regions already covered by the entry ban, which applies to foreign nationals who have been to any of the areas within two weeks of arriving in Japan.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan