print PRINT

SCIENCE > Health

GOJ to expand state of emergency to seven prefectures

  • January 13, 2021
  • , All national papers
  • JMH Summary

All national dailies gave top play to reports on a GOJ plan to expand today the state of emergency to seven additional prefectures beyond the Tokyo metropolitan area in a bid to stem the sharp rise in COVID-19 cases and relieve pressure on hospitals. The expansion will cover Osaka, Hyogo, and Kyoto in western Japan; Gifu and Aichi in central Japan; Fukuoka in Kyushu; and Tochigi in the Kanto region. The state of emergency will last until Feb. 7, during which the governors of the seven prefectures will call on restaurants and bars to close by 8 p.m. and ask people to stay home as much as possible.

In a one-on-one interview with Asahi on Tuesday, Prime Minister Suga said that his administration will make utmost efforts to prevent the virus from spreading further while the state of emergency is in place.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan