print PRINT


Japan to ease entry restrictions for travelers from New York, five other states 

  • June 22, 2021
  • , Yomiuri, Nikkei
  • JMH Summary

Nikkei wrote that the GOJ announced on Monday that starting on June 24 it will ease the entry restrictions for travelers from the states of New York, Iowa, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Michigan that have been in place as a measure against COVID-19. It will no longer be necessary for travelers from these states to stay at government-designated quarantine facilities for three days after arrival in Japan. However, they will still be asked to stay at their homes or hotels for 14 days. 


Yomiuri ran a similar report, adding that on Monday the GOJ designated South Africa, Sweden, Portugal, and other five nations, as well as the state of Arkansas, as areas where the Delta variant of COVID-19 that was first detected in India is spreading. Travelers from these areas will be required to quarantine at designated facilities for three days after their arrival in Japan.  

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan