print PRINT


Stage 3 and 4 observed in 32 prefectures including Tokyo

  • August 6, 2021
  • , Nikkei , p. 2
  • JMH Translation

Starting Aug. 8, the declaration of a state of emergency and “Priority Measures to Prevent the Spread of Disease” will be expanded to 19 prefectures. As of Aug. 4, 32 prefectures reported numbers of new cases corresponding to the national indicators’ “stages three (rapid spread of COVID-19) or four (explosion of new cases).” With the Obon holiday approaching, the prefectures that are not placed under the priority measures are also tightening restrictions on businesses, including shorter hours for restaurants and eateries.


Seven out of eight prefectures that were added to the list of priority measures are experiencing an “explosive” spread of COVID-19, defined as more than 25 new cases per 100,000 residents (the average of the most recent week). Aichi Prefecture has reported 23.56 cases per 100,000 residents. Eleven prefectures including Tokyo that had previously been placed under the state of emergency or the priority measures all recorded more than 25 new cases.


The virus is spreading from population centers including the Tokyo metropolitan area to adjacent areas. Six prefectures that are not yet subject to the priority measures are experiencing an explosion in infections. These are Fukui, Yamanashi, Nara, Wakayama, Tottori, and Okayama. The rapid rise in new cases has been observed in seven prefectures: Miyagi, Niigata, Toyama, Mie, Hiroshima, Kagawa, and Saga. (Abridged)

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan