print PRINT

SCIENCE > Health

Japan to expand COVID-19 state of emergency to eight more prefectures

  • August 25, 2021
  • , All national papers
  • JMH Summary

All national dailies wrote that the GOJ told ruling coalition leaders on Tuesday that it is planning to expand the COVID-19 state of emergency that has been in place in Tokyo and 12 other prefectures to eight more prefectures — Hokkaido, Miyagi, Gifu, Aichi, Mie, Shiga, Okayama, and Hiroshima — from Friday through Sept. 12. The GOJ is also planning to add Kochi, Saga, Nagasaki, and Miyazaki to the 16 prefectures that are under a quasi-state of emergency for the same period. After discussing the issue with Health Minister Tamura and other relevant cabinet ministers on Tuesday, Prime Minister Suga told reporters that the GOJ will make a formal decision today after consulting with experts of the GOJ subcommittee on the COVID-19 pandemic. Suga was quoted as saying that it is important to secure hospital beds and temporary medical facilities for COVID-19 patients.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan