print PRINT


Gist of statement issued on U.S.-led Indo-Pacific economic framework

TOKYO — The following is the gist of a statement issued by the United States and 12 other countries upon the launch of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity on Monday.



— is joined by the United States, Australia, Brunei, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam.

— participants acknowledge that deepening economic engagement among them is crucial for growth, peace and prosperity.

— will focus on four pillars — trade, supply chains, clean energy and infrastructure, and tax and anti-corruption.

— participants will launch discussions toward future negotiations on the four pillars.

— members invite participation from additional Indo-Pacific partners that share their goals and interests.

  • Ambassador
  • Ukraine
  • COVID-19
  • Trending Japan